American Kaleidoscope

Sunday, October 15, 2023 at 4:00PM

Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley 101 Zellerbach Hall #4800, Berkeley, CA 94720

Tickets range from $25-$80!

Embark on an extraordinary symphonic voyage where vibrant melodies and cultural connections intertwine. Experience the rare harmonies of Barber's Essay for Orchestra No. 2, the jazz-infused brilliance of Johnson's Yamekraw: A Negro Rhapsody with the Marcus Roberts Trio, and the introspective introspections of Peter S. Shin's Relapse. Prepare for the timeless allure of Gershwin's iconic Rhapsody in Blue, a dazzling fusion of classical, jazz, and popular music. This captivating program celebrates the evolution of American music, offering a spellbinding kaleidoscope of sounds to ignite your passion for live music.
Approximate run time is 2.5 hours with intermission and post-concert reception (complimentary for all attendees) included.


Joseph Young conductor


Essay for Orchestra No. 2


Yamekraw: A Negro Rhapsody

Marcus Roberts Trio

Peter S. Shin



Rhapsody in Blue

Marcus Roberts Trio

Free Pre-Concert Chat 1 hour before

These informative and engaging pre-concert talks offer fascinating insights into the music you are about to experience. Learn about the program’s cultural and historical context, along with guided listening. Additionally, there will be live interviews with guest artists, composers, and orchestra musicians! Music talks take place one hour before all Symphonic Series concerts. Admission is free to all ticket holders.

About the Artists

Berkeley Symphony musicians

Visit to learn more

Thank you to BARTable for your partnership!

Download the program

the Program