Spring’s Awakening

Sunday, March 16, 2025 at 4:00PM

First Congregational Church of Berkeley 2345 Channing Way, Berkeley, CA 94704

Spring’s Awakening presents a musical commentary on the natural world. Einojuhani Rautavaara’s innovative work Cantus Arcticus features recordings of arctic birds in dialogue with the various instruments of the orchestra, creating harmonious fusions that express the longing for unity between humans and nature. The dynamic and introspective Tipping Point by Huang Ruo is a work that reflects on the delicate balance between humanity and the environment, and contrasting percussive rhythms, representing the urgency of our ecological crisis. Schumann’s Symphony No. 1, the “Spring Symphony,” is a jubilant expression of renewal and rebirth. From its exuberant opening to its triumphant finale, Schumann captures the essence of springtime with lush orchestrations and joyous melodies, reminding us of the eternal cycle of life and the promise of new beginnings.




Cantus Arcticus - Concerto for Birds and Orchestra


Tipping Point


Symphony No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 38

Free Pre-Concert Chat 1 hour before

These informative and engaging pre-concert talks offer fascinating insights into the music you are about to experience. Learn about the program’s cultural and historical context, along with guided listening. Additionally, there will be live interviews with guest artists, composers, and orchestra musicians! Music talks take place one hour before all Symphonic Series concerts. Admission is free to all ticket holders.