Zellerbach Hall Series
Date/Times: December 5, 2013, 8:00 pm
Prices: $15–$74 | Location: Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley


This program features music from the contemporary Australian composer Brett Dean paired with two masterworks from the classical repertoire. The evening begins with Dean’s most widely known work, Carlo, written in 1997 for strings, sampler and tape, and inspired by the music of Italian Renaissance composer Carlo Gesualdo. Cellist Peter Wyrick takes a night off from his associate principal position at the San Francisco Symphony to perform Haydn’s Cello Concerto No 1 with the Orchestra; and the evening comes to a joyful climax with Brahms’ endearing Second Symphony.

Pre-Concert Talk: 7:00 pm - Featuring Paul Dresher. Free admission for all ticket holders.

Joana Carneiro, conductor
Peter Wyrick, cello
Berkeley Symphony

Brett Dean: Carlo
Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1 in C Major
Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73

[toggle_content heading="Brett Dean: Carlo"]

Born on October 23, 1961, in Brisbane, Australia, Brett Dean currently divides his time between his native country and Berlin. Dean composed Carlo in 1997 on a commission by the Australian Chamber Orchestra for the Huntington Festival and dedicated the score to that ensemble and its concertmaster, Richard Tognetti. Combining music for strings with excerpts sampled from the work of Carlo Gesualdo, a tormented, pioneering composer of the late Renaissance, Carlo traces a “journey between two different time zones.”

[toggle_content heading="Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major "]

Born on March 31, 1732, in Rohrau, then part of the Habsburg Empire, Haydn died on May 31, 1809, in Vienna. Scholars speculate that Haydn composed the Cello Concerto in C major at some point between 1761 and 1765. Though a founding father of the Classical style, Haydn wasn’t a pioneer of the concerto format per se, but this long-lost work, composed early in his career, quickly became a cornerstone of the cello repertory after its rediscovery only a half century ago.

[toggle_content heading="Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73 "]

Born on May 7, 1833, in Hamburg, Germany, Brahms died on April 3, 1897, in Vienna. Brahms composed the second of his four symphonies in the summer of 1877. Brahms was famously a late-bloomer in writing symphonies, weighed down by the challenge of adding to a genre Beethoven had seemingly perfected. But his Second Symphony flowed quickly and readily, within a matter of months. Beneath its apparently “pastoral” surface, Brahms interweaves deeper layers of elegy and reflection. His reverence for the past proved to open yet another way toward being “defiantly original.”


Cafe Zellerbach: 6:30pm - View menu.Reservations can be made by calling 510.642.9988.
Pre-Concert Talk: 7:00 pm - Featuring Paul Dresher. Free admission for all ticket holders.

[button url="http://www.calperfs.berkeley.edu/visit/lower-sproul/" target="_self" style="medium"] ZELLERBACH CONSTRUCTION UPDATES [/button]