Symphonic Hall Series
January 26, 2017 , 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley


Celebrated cellist Joshua Roman joins Berkeley Symphony to perform Mason Bates’ Cello Concerto, a piece written for the accomplished cellist in 2014. Mason Bates received his PhD from UC Berkeley before becoming one of the most-performed composer living today. His music fuses innovative orchestral writing, imaginative narrative forms, the harmonies of jazz, and the rhythms of techno.

The second half of our performance consists of the Beethoven Symphony No. 4. French romantic composer Hector Berlioz was so enamored by the second movement of Beethoven’s 4th that he claimed it was the work of the Archangel Michael, not that of a mortal.

PLAN YOUR VISIT – Ticket information, dining, and pre-concert talks.
VENUE INFORMATION – Parking, cafe, seating chart

6:30 pm – Box Office/Will Call and Cafe Zellerbach open*
7:00 pm – Pre-concert talk in the main hall (free to all ticket holders)
8:00 pm – Concert begins

*To make a reservation at Cafe Zellerbach, contact the Cal Performances Ticket Office at 510-642-9988.

Concert notes for the Mason Bates Cello Concerto can be found here.
Concert notes for Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 can be found here.

Mason Bates: Cello Concerto
Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major

Christian Reif, guest conductor
Joshua Roman, cello
Berkeley Symphony

About the Soloist and Composer
Joshua Roman:

Named principal cellist of the Seattle Symphony at age 22, Joshua Roman has since earned an international reputation as a soloist with a wide-ranging repertoire and a commitment to communicating the essence of music in visionary ways. As well as being a celebrated performer, he is recognized as an accomplished composer, curator, and programmer.

Mason Bates:

Mason Bates currently serves as the first composer-in-residence of the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. His music fuses innovative orchestral writing, imaginative narrative forms, the harmonies of jazz and the rhythms of techno, and it has been the first symphonic music to receive widespread acceptance for its unique integration of electronic sounds.

RELEVANCE | Bates, Beethoven