Symphonic Hall Series
October 13, 2016 , 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley
$10 Student Tickets with valid student ID. Call our Box Office to purchase.


We open our 2016-2017 season with the latest orchestral soundscape from internationally active Bay Area composer, PAUL DRESHER. Expect the unexpected with his latest piece, Crazy Eights & Fractured Symmetries. World-renowned violinist, PHILIPPE QUINT joins us to perform his Grammy-nominated interpretation of the KORNGOLD Violin Concerto, and finally, an exploration of love and jealousy with STRAVINSKY’S masterwork Petrushka. We hope you’ll join us!

PLAN YOUR VISIT – Ticket information and dining
VENUE INFORMATION – Parking, cafe, seating chart

5:30 pm – Box Office/Will Call and Cafe Zellerbach open*
7:00 pm – Concert begins

Note the early start time of this concert due to Opening Night Dinner.

*To make a reservation at Cafe Zellerbach, contact or (510) 841-2800, x301.

Paul Dresher: Crazy Eights & Fractured Symmetries (World Premiere Commission)
Erich Korngold: Violin Concerto
Stravinsky: Petrushka

Edwin Outwater, guest conductor
Philippe Quint violin
Berkeley Symphony

About the Soloist and Composer
Philippe Quint:

Russian-born, Juilliard-trained violinist Philippe Quint has carved an unconventional path with his impassioned musical desire for reimagining traditional works, rediscovering neglected repertoire and commissioning new works. He shares his Grammy-nominated interpretation of the Korngold Violin Concerto, which was premiered in 1947 by none other than Jascha Heifetz!

Paul Dresher:

Internationally active as a composer, Paul Dresher is noted for his ability to integrate diverse musical influences into his own coherent and uniquely personal style. His many forms of musical expression include experimental opera, live instrumental electro-acoustic music performances and scores for theater, dance and film.

ROMANCE | Dresher, Korngold, Stravinsky