Symphonic Hall Series
October 14, 2015 , 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley
Please note early start time due to Opening Night Dinner.

Tickets available at the door! Will call/ ticket sales at Zellerbach opens at 5:30pm. Please arrive to collect your tickets no later than 6:30pm.

Relive summer nights filled with love, passion, and longing by way of Berlioz. Celebrate the magic of cinema in Saariaho’s tribute to the moving image. Be swept away by Ravel’s climactic frenzy.

PLAN YOUR VISIT – Ticket information, dining, and pre-concert talks.
VENUE INFORMATION – Parking, cafe, seating chart

5:30 pm – Box Office/Will Call and Cafe Zellerbach open*
7:00 pm – Concert begins
9:00 pm – Opening Night Dinner. Learn more.

*To make a reservation at Cafe Zellerbach, contact or (510) 841-2800, x301.

Berlioz: Les nuits d'été
Saariaho: Laterna Magica
Ravel: Bolero

Joana Carneiro, conductor
Simone Osborne, soprano
Berkeley Symphony

Program Notes

Berlioz: Les nuits d’été

Simone Osborne Simone Osborne:

Soprano Simone Osborne was one of the youngest-ever winners of the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions when she won in 2008 at age 21. Born in British Columbia, she sings with the Canadian Opera Company and has also appeared with ensembles from around the world, including the New York City Opera, the Vancouver Symphony, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Marilyn Horne, who Osborne cites as a mentor, said Osborne is "half athlete and half artist...She understands that voices need to be brilliant, dark and bright, all at once."

Kaija SaariahoKaija Saariaho:

Kaija Saariaho is a prominent member of a group of Finnish composers and performers who are now, in mid-career, making a worldwide impact. She studied composition in Helsinki, Freiburg and Paris, where she has lived since 1982. Her characteristically luxuriant and mysterious textures are often created by combining live music and electronics. She was named Musician of the Year 2008 by Musical America for being "among the few contemporary composers to achieve public acclaim as well as universal critical respect.”

MAGICAL | Berlioz, Saariaho, Ravel